Alaska Interstates


According to the Federal Highway Administration Interstate Highway Route Log and Finder List, Alaska has four Interstate highways that creates a 1,082.22-mile system in the northernmost state. Even though these routes are designated as Interstate highways, they are generally not constructed to Interstate standards and are signed as Alaska State Routes.

Route Southern/Western Terminus Northern/Eastern Terminus
A-1 Interstate A-3 - Anchorage Canadian Border - Yukon Territory
A-2 Interstate A-1 - Tok Junction Interstate A-4 - Fairbanks
A-3 Soldotna Interstate A-1 - Anchorage
A-4 Interstate A-1 - Palmer Interstate A-2 - Fairbanks


On December 31, 1981 the Federal Highway Administration approved the addition of the four Alaska Interstates between the following locations:

  • A-1 from the Alaska-Canada border near Northway west to A-2 at Tok Junction, south to A-4 near Glennallen and continuing west to A-3 at Anchorage.

  • A-2 from a junction with A-1 at Tok Junction west to A-4 and FAP-65 in Fairbanks.

  • A-3 from a junction with A-1 in Anchorage south and west to FAP-21 and FAP-22 in Soldotna via a junction with FAP-31 in the vicinity of Moose Pass.

  • A-4 from a junction with A-1 near Palmer northwest via Wasilla, Denali National Park and Preserve and Nenana to a junction with A-2 and FAP-65 in Fairbanks.

AASHTO then approved the numbering of the Alaska Interstates on June 28, 1982.1

For more details and pictures, see Oscar Voss's Alaska Interstate Ends. Thanks go to Oscar and Stephen Summers for assisting AARoads with information and constructing this page.


  1. AASHTO - Route Numbering Committee Agenda, dated June 28, 1982, Portsmouth, NH.

Page Updated May 17, 2016.